The supervising faculty member has the responsibility to provide an appropriate training experience that helps to advance the career of the postdoctoral appointee. To aide in this process we have provided several resources.

  1.  As part of the annual reappointment process the mentor is expected to write an evaluation (Central Campus only) or progress report of the postdoctoral appointee’s activities in a manner that is clear and timely. These reports should be provided to the appointee and forwarded to the relevant Postdoctoral Affairs office.
  2. For a useful guide on establishing a productive mentoring relationship with your postdoc, download the Postdoc Compact, provided by the American Association of Medical Colleges. Although originally written for postdocs at medical schools, the principles described in the Compact are applicable to faculty in many disciplines. In addition, the U.S. Dept. of Health and Human Services’ Office of Research Integrity has established a resource for mentoring international postdocs via this link:
  3. Individual Development Plan: This provides a planning process that identifies both professional development needs and career objectives.  This document was developed by the Federation of American Societies for Experimental Biology’s Science Policy Committee but can be used and adapted for any discipline. IDP Form

Mentoring Prize

To promote the importance of mentoring, the office of the Provost will award the Postdoctoral Mentoring Prize annually to a faculty member who exemplifies the role of a mentor and who has provided exceptional mentoring to one or more postdoctoral scholars during the previous year. Nominees are identified by current postdocs, as described in the prize announcement.


Dr. Dieter Soll, Sterling Professor of Molecular Biophysics & Biochemistry and Professor of Chemistry


Dr. Joan Steitz, Sterling Professor and Vice Chair of Molecular Biophysics & Biochemistry;  Investigator Howard Hughes Medical Institute


Dr. Robert Crabtree, Conkey P Whitehead Professor of Chemistry.  Please click here to read more about the 2013 award recipient. 


Dr. Menachem Elimelech, Roberto Goizueta Professor Chemical & Environmental Engineering.  Please click here to read more about the 2012 award recipient. 


Dr. Suzanne Alonzo, Associate Professor of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology


The winner of the University’s first Postdoctoral Mentoring Prize is Dr. Michael Caplan, C.N.H. Long Professor and chair of the Department of Cellular and Molecular Physiology at the Yale School of Medicine.